Tom Morello has a new solo album on the way — well, solo maybe isn’t the right word for it. The Rage Against the Machine guitarist has enlisted one or more different artists from all across the musical spectrum to join him on nearly every track, and he’s previewing the whole thing with a cover of AC/DC’s “Highway to Hell” that features Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder and none other than The Boss himself, Bruce Springsteen.

Musically, Morello and Friends’ rendition of the 1979 staple stays pretty true to the hard-rockin’ original, except Vedder and Springsteen make it their own with their vocal deliveries. The Pearl Jam singer lets his unmistakable gravel run wild with what the late Bon Scott provided, and Springsteen comes in to cool everything off with his classic Americana croon.

More than anything, it sounds like the guys just having a blast while playing one of the most timeless rock songs in history, and you can listen above via YouTube.

However, if you think the rest of Morello’s album will be pandering to rock and roll’s legacy era, then think again. Like his star-studded 2018 record, The Atlas Underground, this follow-up will also feature a bevy of artists from every corner of the genre map.

From Bring Me the Horizon and Dennis Lyxzén of Refused to reggae icon Damian Marley, country star Chris Stapleton, dubstep producer Protohype and wandering popstar Mike Posner, the album truly has a guest star for everyone.

The whole thing is out October 15th via Mom + Pop Music, and pre-orders are available here. See the artwork and full track listing below.

The Atlas Underground Fire track listing:
“Harlem Hellfighter”
“Highway to Hell” (featuring Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder)
“Let’s Get The Party Started” (featuring Bring Me The Horizon)
“Driving to Texas” (featuring Phantogram)
“The War Inside” (featuring Chris Stapleton)
“Hold The Line” (featuring grandson)
“Naraka” (featuring Mike Posner)
“The Achilles List” (featuring Damian Marley)
“Night Witch” (featuring phem)
“Charmed I’m Sure” (featuring Protohype)
“Save Our Souls” (featuring Dennis Lyxzén of Refused)
“On The Shore Of Eternity” (featuring Sama’ Abdulhadi)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *